top of page
Suche

got an old cardboard tube, like the ones you get when you get a poster or a print?! make it a cute lil side table!









what you will need (what I used)


- MDF board

- cardboard tube

(mine was about 1 cm thick and the whole tube was about 10 cm wide they shoudn't be too small in terms of their radius, other wise you'll have trouble keeping them standing up)

- Yarn and a pencil maybe some paper if you want to make yourself a template and notes

- a long ruler

- jigsaw

- finishing nails & hammer

- paint of your choice


























first I took a nail and hammered it in the middle of my board.

next I tied a string around it and tied the pencil on the other end - you get somewhat of a circle making tool this way.


I made my circle 60 cm wide - you shouldn't make it much bigger, since it tends to not stand up too well when having super skinny legs. if you want to make a bigger table top I would recommend using 3 or 4 legs.


I drew my circle shape and divided this in 16 pieces















then I started to draw the curved edge, once I had a curve I liked I took a piece of paper and made a template.

I made one "bump" per every line I drew before, so 16 bumps in total

















that's how my table top looked


you will need two small pieces of wood for the legs later on, that's why I left some space at two sides

















I began sawing the table top with the jigsaw






















I went outside to spray paint the top since this needs some drying time


I used chalk paint wich dries super matte

















then I measured the width of the inside of my cardboard tube - basically you want two pieces of wood that fit just inside the opening as snug as possible


so I took the width divided it in half to get the radius and drew two circles on the remaining wood















I cut these out as well























next I halved my cardboard tube to get two legs


you can use a jigsaw for this as well I used this Japanese hand saw because all my batteries were dead


















once my paint was dry I took it inside again and tried a couple different positionings for the legs.

make sure they are pretty much centered but far enough away from each other to be able to hold the whole table.

I turned mine a few times around to really see how it would stand


then I marked where the legs would go


(I made another one of these tables before and put sand in zip lock bags into the legs and put lids at the bottoms - this way you get extra stability since the heaviest point of the table is at the bottom this way)






I screwed the wooden circles on at the positions where I marked the legs go


then I popped the legs over the wooden circles - they are completely hidden, that's why I didn't paint them


















next step: you take your finishing nails and hammer them through the cardboard into the wood - this way the legs stay in place at all times

















I spray painted a last coat after hammering all the nails in because you sometimes hit the cardboard wich can leave marks



















and doooohoone


























thanks to cosmo Lack for providing me with their paint

bottom of page